J0b Opportunity:
Title of Position: Executive Assistant for Ango’tmeq Nm’tginen
Duration: 12-14 month Maternity Leave (35 hours/week)
Location: Listuguj, QC
Annual Salary: According to the MMS Salary Scale

For more info, click here for details.

START DATE: March 2020
Interested candidates must submit their letter of interest and resume, no later than March 6,
2020 (4:30 P.M. NB Time) to:
Mi’gmawei Mawiomi Secretariat,
c/o Juliette Barnaby, Director of Operations,
2 Riverside West,
Listuguj, QC G0C 2R0,
[email protected] or by fax at (418) 788-1315.

Watch our Honored Elder video tribute to this year’s recipient, Betty Martin. Every year, the Mi’gmawei Mawiomi celebrates one of its Elders with a video tribute, Eagle Feather and Tribute poster. Our Elders are such an important part of our communities and this year, it is our honour to pay tribute to Betty Martin of Gesgapegiag.

Our next Mi’gmaq Writers Award Contest for 2020 is now open! The deadline for all submissions is April 30th, 2020.

Read the MWA 2020 Rules in English here. Download the Entry Form in English here.

French versions are also available: www.migmawei.ca/fr/migmaq-writers-award/


MWA Winners awarded plaques

MMS recently awarded this year’s winners in the Mi’gmaq Writers Award contest at a Feast/Social on November 6, 2019.  Pictured below (Left to right): Amber Jerome of Gesgapegiag won with “Teaching Gopit a Lesson” in the 17 & younger category; Jennifer Gedeon of Gesgapegiag won in the 18 & older category with “The Little Cave”.  We also awarded Sarah Isaac of Listuguj, who won in 2018 with her story “Lightning Woman & Thunderbird”.  MM Chair Darcy Gray, who also is a past MWA winner, presented the winners with their plaques.  Visit & bookmark the MWA page for more info.

Our next MWA Contest for 2020 is now open!  The deadline for all submissions is April 30th, 2020.

Read the MWA 2020 Rules in English here.   Download the Entry Form in English here.

The Nta’tugwaqanminen: Our Story book speaks of the evolution of the Gespe’gewa’gi Mi’gmaq along with our relation to the territory, past – present – and future.  The books are available in English & French to members of Gesgapegiag, Gespeg and Listuguj.  If you have not received a copy and would like one, please contact our office by phone or email with your name and mailing address.

Phone: 418.788.1760  * Toll-Free: 800.360-1760 *  Email: [email protected]

Reflections: 20 Years after the Marshall Decision Case. Watch it now at YouTube.com/Migmawei.